All Quiet on the Blogging Front…

b26a0d12e3a4888dd400e50be958c880

Is it just me or has everyone slowed their blogging to a trickle?  If it’s true I say, Good for all of us! We need to enjoy these summer months – here in Chicago it won’t be long before it starts snowing again. (Only Chicagoans know the sad truth of that statement.) I must start by apologizing to my readers and all of my blogging peeps. I’ve been keeping a very low profile for the past few months, and by “low profile” I mean, I’ve been low and hiding my profile . Yes, I’ve been living on the fringe of wordpress. There are certain writers who I’ve shelved, thinking I’ll get back to that post when I have more time to enjoy it, but, “more time” seems  impossible lately. These brilliant writers know who they are. (Basically everyone’s blog that I frequent and even one incredible man who does guest blogging.) The more time that I allow to pass the more pathetic I feel — thus, the apology. Please forgive me.

My life has finally caught up with me and so I’ll take this time to explain my absence. I wish it was something earth shattering and exciting but I assure you, it is not. It’s not even “Gripping.”

I put my house back on the market. Those of you who might recall the last time I did this, it took a year and a half to go under contract. At approximately the same time (Thanksgiving Day) my husband decided to request a divorce. Luckily, I was able to get out of the contract and stay in my house during this very turbulent time.

tumblr_m9tto9ZZPN1qcah0ho1_r1_500

Here I am, endlessly running from my problems.

Fast forward to May of 2013… I put the house back on the market imagining that it would take another year or so to sell. Mind you, I still have no idea where I would move, but I know I desperately need and want a fresh start. Well, can you believe I got an offer the first week it was listed? Not only an offer, but a really good offer. This caused my anxiety to reach an all time high. What was I thinking? I still don’t have a divorce and now I’ve got a really good offer and no place to move. So I’ve been racing around Illinois, as well as a few other states, looking for a good place to call home. (Future post alert – Rest Stops off the interstate – Love ‘em or hate ‘em?) I’ve been told that this is an unusual problem and that it’s fun and exciting… well, all I can say is, nothing could be further from the truth. The phrase, “A chicken with it’s head cut off” comes to mind.

I’ve not signed the contract even though this family desperately wants my house and has increased the offer. I go back and forth thinking that I should just stay put in my house for another couple of years and finalize my divorce, then I could tackle a new location.  I don’t know if that’s a smart thing to do? It’s just too stressful to deal with both issues, right? (This is where my readers could weigh in.)

I’ve also been on a major health kick and I’ve lost 20 pounds, maybe more?! Yay!! I don’t go on the scale, I just know that every size I go down is ten pounds. I feel good but get depressed about my aging body. What happened to all the elasticity and perkiness? I’d like for all my hard work to pay off, but unfortunately, when I look in the mirror I see… oh, never mind what I see! It’s not good. I’ll leave it at that. (Future post alert – Why is EVERYTHING so temporary, damn it!?)

There have been a few other things that have changed for me but I won’t go into detail. I’ll just say I’m happier, busier and I’m smiling a lot. ;)

The sky is blue, the weather is warm, and so maybe we should all consider taking a step away from the computer to enjoy this time of year. Let’s take some collective deep breaths and give each other some space to go about our lives. Some have taken the summer off, some are on an extended leave of absence, others have just slowed their reading and writing, or both, and some have left for good. (I’ll miss Brian Westbye).  Then there are those who keep going, as they should. I admire and respect their prolific talent.

I’ll check back soon!!

My happy summer love to all of you! xoxo

Lisa

