My missing decade of music

MUSIC MONDAY

Something happened in the 90’s that was quite unexpected. As I was raising my two children I lost contact with popular music. Please understand that I’m someone who can’t drive their car down the street without listening to a CD. I can’t go for a walk without popping on my headphones. I always have music accompanying me, no matter what I’m doing. My daughter, Lily, was born in 1987 and my son, Spencer, was born in 1991. Up until that time, popular music was the footnote of my life.

Any decent mother will tell you that entertaining your children is the number one priority. Well, that, and keeping them safe, fed, clothed and clean, also healthy… well, entertainment is certainly on the list. I hate to think of those children in the Russian orphanages staring off into space because no one is paying attention to them. It sickens me. I want to adopt all of them and bring them to the USA where kids are free to sit in front of the TV and watch cartoons all day. Can’t somebody figure out a way to cable in some Sesame Street to Russia? I digress…  (um, that was a joke…)

So, being the good mother that I am, I replaced my music needs with theirs. And what do I have to show for it, well, I know every lyric to Barney’s Sing A long, Lamb chop, Sesame Street, Mr. Rogers Neighborhood, not to mention every song from every Disney movie ever made. And that just barely scratches the surface. I’ve suffered survived all the music that is whimsical and magical from my children’s childhood.

Barney and two annoying friends.

Now that I’ve had a couple of decades to familiarize myself with 90’s music I wanted to make a short list of songs from that decade that I think will stand the test of time. Feel free to disagree or to add your own thoughts and favorites, etc. It’s an eclectic mix. I’m sure one or more will bring back memories, where as I have none : /

  • Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit
  • Pearl Jam – Jeremy
  • Sarah McLachlan – Building a Mystery
  • Oasis – Wonderwall
  • Counting Crows – Mr. Jones
  • Green Day – Good Riddance
  • Christina Aguilera – Genie in a Bottle
  • Goo Goo Dolls – Iris
  • Spin Doctors – Two Princes
  • Radiohead – Creep
  • Sinead O’Connor – Nothing Compares 2 U (ew, why is it written like that?)
  • REM – Losing My Religion
  • Jewel – Who Will Save your Soul
  • Fiona Apple – Criminal
  • Live – I Alone
  • The Cranberries – Linger
  • Lenny Kravitz – Are You Gonna Go My Way
  • Blues Traveler – Run-Around

These can be argued but I like them as well;

  • Backstreet Boys – I Want It That Way
  • Hanson – mmmBop (Yes, I love it, leave me alone!)
  • Salt-N-Pepa – Whatta Man
  • Britney Spears – Baby One More Time
  • EMF – Unbelievable
