Mechanical things…

WHINY WEDNESDAY

I’d like to lodge a few complaints today on the topic of electronics. Nothing in my life, thus far, has made me feel more inept than the challenge of remote controls, and TV game/ equipment set ups. See, I can’t even articulate what it is I’m trying to say because the topic renders me stupid. My brain is not unlike the tangle of cords hiding behind all the ‘Best Buy’ stuff. I think it goes without saying, that I would make a great Amish person.

I'm not gonna lie, I think I could rock the bonnet.

I actually avoid watching TV in our comfortable family room because there are 3 controls and 3 mystery boxes under the TV, in a cabinet. It’s like Pandora’s Box under there. (No, not Lisa Vanderpump’s daughter, Pandora. Now that’s a box I wouldn’t mind opening, as it likely contains Beverly Hills treasures and precious gems.) I would prefer 1 control and 1 box. If everyone’s so smart, why hasn’t anyone come up with that simple concept? Hmm?

I don't want to be mean, but I think we can agree that Pandora is a bit fugly.

My kids laugh at me because I still refer to any thing that records as a “tape player” and of course the thing that gets recorded on is a “tape.” I’m fast and loose with the word “tape” even though I can clearly see that the world is now using “discs.” My brain refuses to accept this.

Just as an aside… My best friend from high school changed her name from Lori to Mallory in our senior year. Everyone made the transition easily, that is, everyone except me. Thirty years later and I’m still calling her Lori. She hates me.

I believe we’ll have bar codes inserted into our body before I can comfortably start talking about discs.

If that’s not enough there are games and additional boxes that can be added on to your “system.” I would seriously LOVE to work out using wii fit and Zumba in the privacy of my own home. But, I can’t. I’m scared. What if I press the wrong button and I break something?

I'm pretty sure this is what I look like when I do zumba.

Who needs wii-fit anyway? By the time it would take me to figure it all out, I could become an Olympic athlete.  I envision myself throwing the shot put, but instead of the heavy metal ball, I would throw the wii-fit box, cords and all.

Words that mean nothing to me: Nintendo, X-box, DVD, DVR, Blue Ray, HD, universal remote, etc.

