Goodbye Whitney…

A real beauty with talent to match

I thought I would go ahead and make tonight’s post about Whitney Houston. I know I’m not alone in this.

When she emerged on the music scene I was in college. MTV aired her pop hit videos all day long and I never grew tired of them. She was beautiful, tall and thin, energetic, and had a voice that was both powerful and sweet at the same time. Her voice seemed pure, definitely a gift from God.

Some of you may only remember the Whitney who was emaciated, strung out on drugs and appeared to be some sort of walking tragedy. If you get the chance, check her out when she was young and fresh. I think you’ll see what the fuss is all about.

In my opinion, her best “performance” was when she sang the National Anthem at the Superbowl. It literally gave me the chills, caused my eyes to well up and made me proud to be an American. She surpassed everyone’s expectations on that day. What a voice!

Sadly, there’s no talent that can withstand the steady onslaught of relationship abuse, drugs, alcohol and an endless cycle of self-defeating behavior. She was WAY TOO YOUNG to die. Her death makes me sad because it was so unnecessary.

