Thick and Thin Thursday

T H I C K   A N D   T H I N   T H U R S D A Y

I’ve decided to eliminate Therapeutic Thursday as it was starting to feel too heavy. Instead I’m going to see how I feel each Thursday and go from there, which actually ends up being sort of therapeutic anyway.

One of the focuses of my life has always been weight, diet and exercise. I always feel like I’m just on the other side of that place where I would feel comfortable in my own skin. My weight usually fluctuates within 25 pounds. That probably sounds like a lot but when you’re almost 6 feet tall it gets evenly distributed, and so it’s less noticeable. (At least that’s what I tell myself.) For example, when tall women get pregnant you hardly notice the baby bump. It’s one of the perks of being tall.

These are the things that stand in the way of achieving my goals.

LATE NIGHT EATING

I can be “good” all day and eat healthy food but as soon as the sun sets I become fixated on sweets. My favorite items are cereal, cookies and occasionally, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a glass of ice-cold skim milk. The milk is crucial. It makes me feel like such a baby but it seriously puts me to sleep. All I need are some footy pajamas and I’d be good to go. (Please someone tell me that I’m not alone in this ritual!)  I think eating at night is an attempt to reduce my stress from the day. Food is definitely my drug of choice. (So that would make Oreos my Crack Cocaine)

Yummy!

I know if I could eliminate my bed time snack I would wake up feeling much better.

MOTIVATION

 During the winter all of my healthy habits become so tiresome. I just want to hibernate. The dark and the cold wreak havoc on my motivation. I usually push myself to exercise but it’s definitely more hit and miss in the winter months. The last thing I want to eat is another salad. SO BORING! Tell me I’m not alone in this…

Maybe if my salad looked like this I would eat it?

What do you do that motivates you to stay healthy and on track? I’d like to know.

GETTING OLD

I don’t want to depress or scare any of my youthful bloggers but getting old sucks. I don’t even recognize myself anymore. Everything has shifted. My once elastic skin is now tired and droopy. Areas that were never a problem are all of a sudden drawing my attention, and not in a good way. I avoid the mirror at all costs. Everything feels creaky and stiff.

By the way, it’s not lost on me that this post is equally as heavy as any of my old thursday posts! haha!

 If I don’t snap out of my current eating and exercise rut I’m going to be shopping for a lot of cover-ups, sarongs and bathing dresses (you know the kind of bathing suit that has the skirt attached?) Each year my skirt gets longer and this year I fear it will be a tea length! ha!

I think she has the right idea…

