The Hunger Games…

F I L M   R E V I E W   F R I D A Y 

Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen

Finally, the most anticipated film of the year opened today. I actually attended the midnight show and returned home at 3:00 am, something I will never do again. I’ve decided I’m way too old for that sort of thing.

The Hunger Games is 2 hours and 40 minutes, so it’s not short by any means. It’s very true to the book, which is a good thing, because comparisons always get made and most people loved the book.

Sexy promo shot.

My biggest problem with the film was the way in which it was shot. The camera work felt hand held, it was very unstable, definitely herky jerky. I actually started feeling dizzy. Yes, I have motion sickness. I’m usually okay with some erratic camera motion   but if the camera movements are extreme I’ll start feeling dizzy, as was the case with this movie. I don’t think the story was enhanced by this technique, on the contrary, it detracted from it and made it difficult to see what was going on. They did seem to ease off a bit by the end of the film, but I still was unable to fully enjoy it.

I sat through two of the “Twilight” sagas so I know what torture is. The two teen films don’t even compare. The “Twilight” characters are uninteresting and the actors are terrible. The characters in the Hunger Games are well thought out, they’re believable and the actors are quite good. The best of the bunch being, Jennifer Lawrence who plays the main character, Katniss Everdeen — cool name, right?

This is an original story. It’s set in the future in a place called Panem, once known as North America. The Capital of Panem is a ultra modern society surrounded by 12 ghetto type districts. The Capital is inhabited by what I would call A MIX of OC housewives on steroids and Dr. Seuss like people — sort of a Cirque du Soleil freak show. One girl and one boy are randomly chosen from each of the 12 districts to compete annually in a live broadcast of THE HUNGER GAMES. There, they will fight to the death until one person remains. The victor gets to live out the rest of his or her life with everything provided for them.

SEE IT if you’d enjoy original material and colorful characters OR if the names Katniss, Rue, Cinna, Prim and Peeta, draw you in. DON’T SEE IT if you have mild to medium motion sickness or seeing Stanley Tucci with a blue Pompadour will disturb you.

Grade B

Donald Sutherland, Stanley Tucci, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Jennifer Lawrence, Liam Hemsworth, and Josh Hutcherson

