Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

                                           F I L M   R E V I E W   F R I D A Y 

I put off seeing this film for several weeks. I figured with a name like, “Salmon Fishing in the Yemen” it was bound to be boring as, well, salmon, fishing and the Yemen. Snore. But to my delight I found it to be a sweet, romantic Drama/comedy.

The film was intelligently directed by Lasse Hallstrom (Chocolat, Cider House Rules, My Life as a Dog). I credit him and writer, Simon Beaufoy (Slumdog Millionaire), with knowing how to create a proper love story. The dialogue is smart and the characters charming. (Not to mention, extremely good looking…) Both Emily Blunt (Harriet) and Ewan McGregor (Fred) are very believable in their roles; she a high ranking British consultant and he, a nerdy fisheries expert. Kristin Scott Thomas is sharp and funny as the prime minister’s press secretary and Amr Waked is perfect as the spiritual but modern sheik, whose improbable vision of fly fishing in the Yemen, brings them all together.

I’m not going to elaborate on the story details, better to let it unfold in front of you. Suffice it to say that it’s not only a love story (I did get a bit teary eyed) but a lesson in faith and believing. I’ve never been one to embrace the “sport” of fly fishing but it works wonderfully as a metaphor here. Even the salmon themselves become a meaningful symbol.

This movie meanders along at a pace that may not entertain those of you who normally enjoy a more action packed story. I’d describe it as charming, sweet, quirky, and smart.

SEE IT if you’d enjoy an upbeat, heartwarming story with great dialogue. DON’T SEE IT if you’re looking for more of the same old, same old, OR if you need sex and car chases to be entertained.

GRADE  A-

