Open House

Whiny Wednesday on Tuesday

You know I’m having a bad week when Whiny Wednesday has been moved to Tuesday. All I can say is, somebody please kill me or buy my house – either one will put me out of my misery.

As some of you know I’ve been trying to sell my house for the past year. I know, my timing is impeccable. It’s always best to sell a home during a double dip recession when the housing market is at it’s absolute worst.

Yesterday was spent cleaning and primping my home for the realtor’s OPEN HOUSE which took place today from 10:00 to 2:00 p.m. Preparing the house for a tour requires that I go into Joan Crawford mode. It’s not pretty. I can tell by their frightened faces that my family thinks I’m Mommie Dearest. I’m not gonna lie, my OCD does kick into full throttle, but somehow I manage to stop short of beating my children with wire hangers in the middle of the night. Suffice it to say, that by the time 10:00 rolls around, the house looks beautiful.

a few last minute touch ups…

Join me in my 4 hour lock-out

The idea that I have to be shut out of my house for 4 hours just about kills me. Topping the list of things I do during these mind numbing four hours, EAT. And believe me, I EAT. Next, I go to Barnes and Noble and read every magazine and new book review. Done. I look at the clock in the car, 10:43. Damn! I must have eaten faster than I thought. Again, not pretty. I randomly go into Pier One Imports and walk around looking at all the crap that strangely attracts and repels me simultaneously. It’s now 11:03. Eventually I wind up in a van down by the river. …and so my 4 hour odyssey goes. 

Did I mention that it’s 100 degrees outside? I wonder how the Open house and ‘showing’ are going…?

Yay! Finally it’s 2:00! I return home, expecting good news only to find out that it was a bust. Only 2 realtors showed up and the showing went badly. Seriously?? All that hard work down the drain. At least tonight I can eat off the floors, I mean, if I wanted to I could.

Puh-leeze, somebody kill me or buy my house!

