I Say A Little Prayer

M U S I C   M O N D A Ydionne2

Dionne Warwick’s music was always playing in my house when I was growing up. There’s something about her voice quality that I find so pleasing — maybe it just transports me to another time and place…? My Favorites include; Do You Know the Way To San Jose, Message to Michael, I’ll Never Fall in Love Again, Alfie, Walk On By, This Girl’s in Love With You, Are You There (With Another Girl), I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself, Trains and Boats and Planes, Always Something There To Remind me…

In a 1967 Time Magazine article, song composer, Burt Bacharach, stated of Warwick, “She has a tremendous strong side and a delicacy when singing softly – like miniature ships in bottles.” Burt Bacharach first noticed Dionne Warwick when she was singing backup for The Drifters, after the show he went back stage, grabbed her, and the rest is history.  His music, Hal David’s lyrics and her voice were like butter, or “Buttah”. They made memorable music from the mid 60’s into the 70’s.

Here’s Aretha Franklin’s version. It’s a lot more soulful. I’ll play her version if I’m in a different mood. I can’t say which one I prefer more.

How about you? Do you have a preference for this particular song?

