Selling Home…

W E E K E N D   P O T P O U R R I 

“A place belongs forever to whoever claims it hardest, remembers it most obsessively, wrenches it from itself, shapes it, renders it, loves it so radically that he remakes it in his own image.”     – Joan Didion

Our house has been on the “market” since June 2011. The word market brings to my mind an outdoor event under some sort of tent, like a flea or farmer’s market. If only selling our house were that easy…

We have a lot of things working against us, first and foremost, A DEPRESSED ECONOMY. We’ve lived in this house for almost 15 years, always believing we had made a great investment. Had the economy continued to grow at a healthy rate, we might have made a nice little profit, but no, we’ll be lucky to break even. 

WE LIVE OFF A MAIN ROAD which, to many, is undesirable, but our house is set back far enough that it’s never been an issue. I don’t mind it really. When I pull out of my driveway I’m on my way. Meandering around a subdivision is the alternative.

Our HOUSE IS OLD. It was built in 1934. It’s a romantic shingled Cape Cod; glass door knobs, old wood floors, plaster walls, real wood burning fireplace, etc. It’s not grand, there’s no “media room,” and no “man cave.” It’s definitely not a McMansion. It’s one of a kind. This house is old and unpretentious, lived in and warm. I actually consider it to be one of my children — maybe I love it so much because it’s always been like a naughty child, something’s always breaking, it’s blowing a fuse or bursting a pipe. But after 14 years we’ve finally reached an understanding and now we get a long quite well. (Yes, we had to beat it into submission or, in nicer terms, it’s been lovingly restored.)

THERE ARE NO COMPS FOR THIS HOUSE. It’s a UNIQUE home and it’ll take a “special” person to buy this home. That’s what we’ve been told. 

WHAT I HAVEN’T TOLD YOU…

This home represents who I am. My children grew up in these happy rooms and became the people they are today. I think I did, too. Our pets lived and were loved in this storybook setting. Every paint color, piece of furniture, and fixture was carefully chosen, as was every plant and shrub. Within these walls and under this roof are the best of my memories.

It’s my hope that the person who buys this house will feel these things upon entering. I want the new owner to love this house as I have and to treasure it’s special quality – those imperceptible things that make it a home.

*Random pictures of homes were used

